Skip to main content

Upgrading the billing plan for a GitHub Marketplace app

You can upgrade your GitHub Marketplace app to a different plan at any time.

When you upgrade an app, your payment method is charged a prorated amount based on the time remaining until your next billing date. For more information, see "About billing for GitHub Marketplace."

Upgrading an app for your personal account

  1. In the upper-right corner of any page, click your profile photo, then click Settings.

    Screenshot of GitHub's account menu showing options for users to view and edit their profile, content, and settings. The menu item "Settings" is outlined in dark orange.

  2. In the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Billing and plans.

  3. Next to the app you want to upgrade, select the Edit dropdown menu, then click Change plan.

  4. Under "Edit your plan," select the dropdown menu, then click a new plan.

  5. If you chose a unit plan, type a new quantity.

  6. Review the information about your new plan and billing information, then click Issue plan changes.

Upgrading an app for your organization

Tip: If an app requires organization-level access, then only an organization owner can purchase, install, or cancel the app, and manage app billing for the organization. If the app doesn't require organization-level access, then a repository administrator can install and uninstall the app.

  1. In the top right corner of GitHub.com, click your profile photo, then click Your organizations.

    Screenshot of the dropdown menu under @octocat's profile picture. "Your organizations" is outlined in dark orange.

  2. Next to the organization, click Settings.

  3. In the "Access" section of the sidebar, click Billing and plans.

  4. Next to the app you want to upgrade, select the Edit dropdown menu, then click Change plan.

  5. Under "Edit your plan," select the dropdown menu, then click a new plan.

  6. If you chose a unit plan, type a new quantity.

  7. Review the information about your new plan and billing information, then click Issue plan changes.